top of page

Board Governance

Benjamin Franklin High School is governed by Advocates for Academic Excellence in Education, Inc., a non-profit corporation. The school is a Type 3 Charter school authorized by the Orleans Parish School Board.  

Board of Directors 

Sean A. Blondell, Secretary

Jill E. Condon
Alea M. Cot, President

Shaneika Dabney-Henderson '96

Liz Faul '88

Charmaine Cooper Hussain

Dominique Lang '06

Jonathan L. Levy '03

Dolly Malik

Brian Mora

Kim Nguyen

John W. Nicklow, Ph.D.

Alexis Parent-Ferrouillet, Ed.L.D. '96

Todd Ragusa

Jeffrey Seymour

Allen Square, Jr., Treasurer

Mitchell Turnbough

Anu Varadharajan

Board Meeting Dates

August 18, 2022 (Agenda, Minutes)

September 15, 2022 (Agenda, Minutes)

October 20, 2022 (Agenda, Minutes)

November 17, 2022 (Agenda, Minutes)

December 15, 2022  - canceled

January 12, 2023 (Agenda, Minutes)

February 9, 2023 (Agenda, Minutes)

March 16, 2023 (Agenda, Minutes)

April 20, 2023 (Agenda, Minutes)

May 18, 2023 (Agenda, Minutes)

June 15, 2023--Annual Meeting

Future meetings to be determined


Public Records Requests

The link below connects to the person responsible for Public Records Requests (​

Otherwise, please mail or deliver requests to Dr. Patrick Widhalm, 2001 Leon C. Simon Drive, New Orleans, LA 70122

The Board includes members who represent the Parents' Association, the Alumni Association, and the Athletic Association.  Anyone who is interested in representing one of these organizations, or any parent, guardian, grandparent, or alumni who would like to be considered for the Governing Board should contact the current Board President.  Most Board openings are filled during the annual meeting in June, however interest may be expressed any time.

bottom of page